Jaydon’s first time in the pool

In Bermuda shorts that were way too big, Jaydon embarked on an adventure that left him wet and shivering.

Jaydon’s grandparents (my dad and stepmom) were visiting for a few days. The pool at the hotel they were staying at was heated and indoors so we thought it would be nice to go swimming in January.

Jaydon and daddy in the pool

Jaydon and Daddy in the pool

I got in first with an inflatable baby raft. With the raft steady in the water mommy handed Jaydon to me and I placed him into the rafts seat. I watched as his eyes lit up in excitement and confusion as the warm water crept up his legs to his waist.

A swimming pool is nothing like a babies bathing tub and Jaydon knew it. To Jaydon the pool must have been as big as a lake. Every so often he would look up to mommy and then back to me.

Mommy and I talked to Jaydon as I pulled him around the pool. We would say “splish splash, splish splash.” When Jaydon takes a bath we would say splish splash and he would start splashing his hands in the water. We could tell  Jaydon was a little scared. He never cried or made a sound though. Keeping his cool the whole time Jaydon placed his trust in me and has hands glued to the side of the raft.

After about ten minutes Jaydon started shivering. The air was warm and steamy but it still felt cold. So Jaydon’s first time in the pool came to an end.

At the shallow end of the pool I took Jaydon out of the raft, walked up the steeps and handed him to mommy. Jaydon was really cold now and mommy quickly dried him off.

We were all proud of Jaydon for being so brave.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Wordless Wednesday – Jaydon and Daddy | The Adventures of Jaydon and Daddy
  2. JJ Usher
    Jun 16, 2013 @ 15:57:24

    Can I simply say what a comfort to discover somebody who
    really understands what they’re talking about on the net. You actually understand how to bring a problem to light and make it important. A lot more people really need to read this and understand this side of your story. I was surprised that you’re
    not more popular because you surely possess the gift.

Help Our Rank & Visit Top Baby Blogs, Baby Blog Directory!
Online Marketing
Add blog to our blog directory.
South Carolina Yellow Pages
