Children’s TV shows: Can you sing the opening theme song?

It all started about six months ago when my wife and her friend took the boys to a “Super Why!” concert at the coliseum. At the time I had not heard of Super Why! All I knew was that it was a children’s TV show brought to life on stage.

Super Why!

Super Why!

When they came home after the show my wife was excited and wanted to show me something. Turning to Jaydon she said, “Super Why!” Jaydon with a small hop and excitement in his voice raised his arms and said, “Why!”

And with that Jaydon rang in the age of non stop Children’s TV shows.

We have Netflix so right away my wife and I looked to see if Super Why was available. Sure enough it was. We also noticed another children’s show we’ve heard of called “Dora the Explorer.”

Dora the Explorer

Dora the Explorer

These two shows would become the staple of children educational entertainment in our house.

Today Jaydon continues to watch Super Why and Dora the Explorer. He is also watching shows by “LeapFrog” and an occasional “Thomas and Friends.” I’m a big train fan so I am hoping the interest will rub off on Jaydon.

Jaydon has seen every episode of Super Why and Dora several times. You would think this is too much but repetition equals learning and Jaydon is definitely learning. He recognizes most of not all of the letters in the alphabet and can also say the letters.

Jaydon watching Dora the Explorer.

Jaydon watching Dora the Explorer.

Now we are not TV nanny’s. My wife and I spend hours teaching Jaydon new words, reading and singing to him and answering all those toddler questions. Jaydon also loves looking through books. He is picking up words fast and has surprised us on more that one occasion.

Yesterday Jaydon started watching Dora and without realizing it I was singing along to the theme song. But the biggest surprise was I knew all the words to the song. I can also sing the theme to Super Why and Leap Frog- Phonics Farm. I must say they are catchy songs.

Do you know the words to your child’s favorite TV show? Can you sing it out loud and without help?

I can.

Does that mean I need help? I sure hope not.


Find Jaydon and Daddy Online


Related articles

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. desireepurvis
    Feb 25, 2013 @ 10:49:00

    I know every song to every show my kids watch – it’s actually kind of scary. We went to see the Fresh Beat Band in Savannah last October and I knew every single song. Same thing happened with Jake and The Neverland Pirate Band, Nick Jr. Live! (Which consisted of Kai Lan, Wonder Pets, Backyardigans, and Dora), and Laurie Berkner.
    Then again, I’ve always been a music fanatic, so we tend to only watch things that are musical. More than once we’ve had friends over and I’ve had my ipod on shuffle – the look on people’s faces when they hear “Captain Hook is a cranky crook…” coming from the speakers is absolutely priceless!

    You’ve been nominated for being an inspriational blogger!

    http://desireepurvis.wordpress.com/2013/02/25/you-win-again/

    • Chris Hall
      Feb 25, 2013 @ 12:57:33

      Wow, Cool! Thank you for the nomination of inspriational blogger! I like how you wrote, “one wicked cute little dude” about Jaydon on your post. d:~)
      I’m definitely going to post this for my Friday Blog.

  2. Theresa
    Feb 25, 2013 @ 14:23:00

    My niece is a huge Dora fan. She doesn’t have the patience to sit through an episode, but having it in the background as she is playing has actually taught her a lot of Spanish words. She can tell you all the primary colors in English, then in Spanish. It’s quite impressive for a 4 year old!

    • Chris Hall
      Feb 25, 2013 @ 14:27:23

      At first Jaydon was the same way. He would give the show 10-15 minutes then started playing. But if you turned it off or changed the channel he would get upset. Most days Jaydon now sits though the entire episode.

  3. Trackback: Toddler leaping into learning | The Adventures of Jaydon and Daddy
  4. Ameer
    Oct 03, 2013 @ 02:35:05

    Hi Jaydon and Daddy
    I hope one day that , you and your son can sing my theme sing.. I’m 23 yrs old and the cartoon today are not like the 90s cartoon. 90s cartoon had heart, soul, and creative. I have been try so hard to get my cartoon to a network. It’s called LITTL INVENTOR. about adventures of young bi-racial inventor with Dyslexia. Who taps into his inner creativity to not only discover wondrous things.Little Inventor is not just an animated series, but a way of life. Letting kids to open up their mind and freely thinking outside the box. The problem with science is that it has always seemed like it’s for nerds only. Little Inventor is a fun cartoon series that reveals science in a different light. It follows the adventures of young inventors who tap into their inner creativity to not only discover wondrous things, but to use their minds to develop devices and procedures that enrich our lives. My show idea has heart and soul but with fun and crazy ups and downs. please help me get Little inventor the help he need. thank you link to my characters : http://kidinvent.tumblr.com/post/62438011161/your-input-please

    IT’S INVENT TIME

Help Our Rank & Visit Top Baby Blogs, Baby Blog Directory!
Online Marketing
Add blog to our blog directory.
South Carolina Yellow Pages
