Jaydon’s first time on an escalator

Over the last 23-months Jaydon has visited the mall department store dozens of times. We would push Jaydon in his stroller in and out of the clothing isles. He would run zig zagging around all the makeup counters. Played, “what’s that” with the mannequins. And ride the elevator up to the second floor and then back down.

But the one thing Jaydon had not done in a mall department store, was ride the escalator.

Jaydon stands still as the escalator lowers us down to the first floor.

Just before reaching the bottom Jaydon decided to sit down.

As we approached the escalator from the second floor I let Jaydon take a quick look to make sure he was not scarred but OK with riding the escalator down.

Jaydon was curious and eager. So I told Jaydon to watch his step as together we walked onto the moving staircase.

Jaydon was in aww. Standing still he looked around and smiled. Jaydon actually sat down for a brief moment. I was taking photos so I stopped and quickly got him to stand up. I was surprised later when I found I had a photo of him sitting on the step.

Just before reaching the bottom I took Jaydon’s hand and he said, “fun.” We then stepped off together and I smiled.


Find Jaydon and Daddy Online


Related articles

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christie Silver
    Mar 25, 2013 @ 12:10:01

    That’s funny, I just took my two year old son to a department store yesterday for the first time that I can remember. It was tough! I was grateful to my mom and husband for chasing after him while I tried on a suit. How do you keep Jaydon from running away?

    • Chris Hall
      Mar 25, 2013 @ 12:29:56

      Actually I just let Jaydon explore. I’m right their with him the whole time to make sure he is save as my wife shops. Jaydon has learned to stay close to me and take my hand when necessary.

      • Christie Silver
        Mar 25, 2013 @ 13:06:45

        That’s great. Hugo probably needed to run around more since it’s cold and we hadn’t been outside. We went to a trampoline class a while ago that helped a lot on the weekends!

    • Chris Hall
      Mar 25, 2013 @ 14:57:18

      I’m always taking Jaydon to the food court play area or the park during the day. We are also very active, chasing, tickling, dancing with him just before bed time. It really helps. On average Jaydon only complains about once a week when it’s time to go to bed.

    • Dotty
      May 20, 2014 @ 04:01:40

      You’ve captured this peflcetry. Thanks for taking the time!

  2. Andrew
    Mar 25, 2013 @ 20:27:22

    Thanks for dropping by my blog. I love your blog too. My boy loves the escalator too. The best part is he know his way to the next escalator and rush there to get his way up or down. It is not entirely safe on an escalator, hence I always make it a point that he should hold his mummy’s or my hand when we are going on an escalator.

  3. Stephen Greene
    Mar 26, 2013 @ 21:23:28

    This is a great story. Up until now I have always held my 20 month old when we get on the escalator. He absolutely loves it and it seems as if he just can’t get his head around how we are going up or down, but not actually moving. I think next time I will try to see if he will stand on it himself.

    • Chris Hall
      Mar 26, 2013 @ 22:24:09

      Jaydon has done really well listening to me and doing what I say in public that I decided to let him try the escalator. I also made sure he did not touch any part of it.

Help Our Rank & Visit Top Baby Blogs, Baby Blog Directory!
Online Marketing
Add blog to our blog directory.
South Carolina Yellow Pages
