My toddler eats coffee grounds

I’m a coffee drinker so I have a Keurig coffee maker and a couple of boxes of K-cups. One of the flavors I purchased recently was Cafè Mocha. I like flavored coffee and was curious about the flavor of Cafè Mocha. Unfortunately I did not like the taste too much so I set the open box aside just in case family of friends wanted to try it.

My son loves to explore and get into everything. A couple of weeks ago Jaydon found the open box of K-cups and started to play with them. He would shake the cups and listen as the grounds scraped the inside of the cup. Jaydon would also stack them like building blocks and he would place them strategically around the room and then go back to find them. After Jaydon finishes playing with the K-cups he would always put them back into the box.

Jaydon had never been destructive or abusive to the K-cups so it was a big shock this week when we found that he had poked a hole into the top of one of the K-cups and started eating the coffee.

Cafè Mocha Keurig K-cup.

Like a bag of flavored sugar Jaydon was licking his finger, sticking it into the K-cup and then back into his mouth. Jaydon managed to dip his finger three times before we stopped him.

My sons first coffee taste test occurred around 7:00 pm so not only were we concerned about the amount of caffeine he had just eaten but whether or not Jaydon would be able to even sleep that night. Being 24-months-old and a little boy Jaydon can be a hyper child at times. Unsure on how long Jaydon would stay up we decided to play games that would wear him out. For the next two hours we chased Jaydon around the house, bounced on the bed, and played hide-and-seek.

At nine o’clock we started Jaydon’s bedtime routine. Noticing he was getting ready for bed Jaydon started to calm himself down. He went potty, was washed, had his diaper changed, teeth brushed, and was rocked for a few minutes before being put down into his crib. We then turned out the light, closed the door and listened.

Not a sound. Jaydon was asleep.

The next morning I woke up at the usual time, 7:30 am. By now Jaydon is usually up but I did not hear him calling for mommy or daddy so I stayed in bed. Mommy had already gotten up and headed off to work.

Eight o’clock came and went and not a sound.

Eight thirty. I thought to myself, Jaydon could not sleep much longer, so I got up to start the day fully expecting him to wake up soon.

I ended up showering, changing, finished up two projects and then played on the computer before realizing it was now 10:00 am and Jaydon was still sleeping.

I went into Jaydon’s room and opened the door. He started to moan and move. Most likely he heard the door open. Jaydon then opened his eyes, stood up and said, “dad dad!”

Later I did some research and found that the Cafè Mocha K-cups contain an estimated less than 10 mg of caffeine per serving. I came to the conclusion that Jaydon did not consume enough caffeine to keep him up all night or make him hyper. But we did discover that playing with mommy and daddy a couple of hours before going to bed was a great way to not only wear him out before bedtime but to ensure he got a good night sleep.

Moral, don’t let your children play with anything that is remotely dangerous especially when the packaging says, adult supervision required.


Related articles


Follow Jaydon and Daddy online
Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | Pinterest | YouTube

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bjklinetobe
    Apr 05, 2013 @ 13:47:02

    I guess coffee is better than the dog food I find scattered on the ground or the left over crumbs on the corner of my daughters lips. Funny story and enjoyed the read.

    B.

  2. ashleekiser
    Apr 05, 2013 @ 14:04:50

    Ian did the same thing a few weeks ago and we also worried that we would be up all night with a very wired little boy, but similarly Ian slept just fine. Always something, isn’t it!?!

  3. Peter
    Apr 05, 2013 @ 23:19:15

    My two year old likes to sneak coffee beans out of the bag and eat them when I’m not looking, or dip his finger in the grounds. You never know what they’re going to get into.

  4. Chris Hall
    Apr 06, 2013 @ 14:33:57

    Toddlers can be quite the explorer.

  5. Erin
    Apr 07, 2013 @ 13:20:24

    I might have to try this tonight! Not the coffee part – the running around the house part.

  6. mightyknittingchick
    Apr 11, 2013 @ 00:14:29

    I love the Cafe Mocha! I was just lamenting that I had the last one a couple of days ago.

  7. melly1982
    Apr 13, 2013 @ 17:56:11

    Miss K loves to sneak a sip of my frappucino whenever she can – thankfully she hasn’t gotten into the coffee grounds (yet – but dog food is a firm favourite!

Help Our Rank & Visit Top Baby Blogs, Baby Blog Directory!
Online Marketing
Add blog to our blog directory.
South Carolina Yellow Pages
