Jaydon’s first sci-fi convention, AtomaCon

I’m a big science fiction fan so I was excited when I learned that AtomaCon was coming to Charleston. The last sci-fi convention I attended was over 10-years ago.

AtomaCon is a nonprofit dedicated to creating awareness of science fiction, fantasy and science through literacy and other popular art forms.

Jaydon has seen very little when it comes to science fiction so I was a unsure how he would react to the cosplay, art and books. Lucky Jaydon found it all interesting. He walked around looking at different displays, vendors, and the strangely dressed people. The only time Jaydon seemed a little scared or unsure was around an operational R2D2 from Star Wars. He did not want to get too close but would occasionally announce to everyone, “The robot is moving!”

Jaydon and I had a great time. The vendors and cosplayers were very friendly and more than happy to interact with Jaydon and myself. I cannot wait until Jaydon is a little older so he can really appreciate science fiction with me.

Jaydon reads a comic book at AtomaCon.

Jaydon reads a comic book at AtomaCon.

Jaydon stands next to the Ghostbusters, Ecto 1 and Cheralyn Lambeth of Carolina Ghostbusters.

Jaydon stands next to the Ghostbusters, Ecto 1 and Cheralyn Lambeth of Carolina Ghostbusters.

Jaydon activates one of the Ghostbusters Proton Packs at AtomaCon.

Jaydon activates one of the Ghostbusters Proton Packs.

I was excited to find a Doctor Who Tardis at AtomaCon.

I was excited to find a Doctor Who Tardis at AtomaCon.

Jaydon sits next to a dome from a Star Wars, R2 unit.

Jaydon sits next to a dome from a Star Wars, R2 unit.

A little apprehensive of this fully operational R2D2, Jaydon decides to keep his distance.

A little apprehensive of this fully operational R2D2, Jaydon decides to keep his distance.


Follow Jaydon and Daddy online
Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | Pinterest | YouTube

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Redhead
    Nov 09, 2013 @ 14:20:06

    Science fiction conventions are the best, and I’m happy you took your little one! It’s up to us to introduce the next generation to the wonders of science fiction.

    • Chris Hall
      Nov 09, 2013 @ 14:51:39

      The AtomaCon was small, which is good size to introduce my toddler to Sci-fi. Comic-Con and Dragoncon would have been way to big and confusing for him.

Help Our Rank & Visit Top Baby Blogs, Baby Blog Directory!
Online Marketing
Add blog to our blog directory.
South Carolina Yellow Pages
